EU Commission Publishes Consolidated List of Travel Bans & Other Sanctions

 EU Commission Publishes Consolidated List of Travel Bans & Other Sanctions

The European Union Commission has published a compiled list of travel bans in its EU Sanctions Map tool.

In announcing the news, the Commission clarified that this tool will allow EU citizens to see who is subject to a travel ban under penalty measures and therefore ban EU travel. , reports.

According to the Commission, the Sanctions Tool will be available to the authorities of each Member State as well as to EU citizens. It was revealed that the purpose of the Sanctions Tool is to provide readily available data and information on the strict measures adopted by the EU to date.

The EU Sanctions Map tool shows that strict measures currently apply to individuals and entities in Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Guinea, Mali, Tunisia, Libya, South Sudan, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe, Somalia, Yemen, Iraq, Syria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, and Myanmar.

The countries where most of the theme bans are in use today are Belarus, North Korea, Russia, and Syria.

The Commission stressed that the information on the EU Sanctions Map is regularly updated following any changes to existing sanction regimes.

Commenting on the publication of the combined list of travel bans, the High Representative responsible for Common Foreign and Security Policy, Josep Borrell, said that travel bans are an important component of the policy toolbox outside the EU and an integral part of most penal regimes.

“Since 2014, the Council has imposed travel bans against 1,091 individuals in response to their actions that violate Ukraine’s sovereignty. Since the start of Russia’s illegal aggression on Ukraine this year, an estimated 900 travel bans restricting entry into EU territory have been imposed against individuals who support and facilitate that aggression. Borrell added.

Commissioner Mairead McGuinness, responsible for enforcing sanctions, financial services, financial stability and Capital Markets Union, also commented on the list. He said it is very important to have transparency.

“This includes those involved, in one way or another, in Russia’s unreasonable aggression against the people of Ukraine. We are now updating our publicly available tool, which will help facilitate the implementation of our “Our Sanctions Map is another way to shed light on those responsible,” he said. McGuinness’s statement can be read.

EU authorities impose travel bans and other strict measures on individuals and entities to avoid conflict or respond to emerging or current crises. Currently, the EU has more than 40 different punishment regimes.

Source link

Related post